The little green thing with the jelly-cake. Hashtag, craic.

Pronounced like, ‘crack’, the Irish constantly heavily sprinkle this word into conversation explaining its connotation as fun like, ‘What great craic!”, “It was craic!” Hilarious when we offered its popularity to our Hungarian roommate Ben who immediately shook his head exclaiming, “No. no, not for me thank you.” Definitely one of the most common terms of fun used by the Irish, and I wouldn’t be surprised if I start use it just as often. It’s just craic.

So about the title of this post. Yes, delirium had set in with all of my flat mates and myself especially after doing what you’re apparently not supposed to do: drinking on an empty stomach. After a long day in the city of Limerick yet again, we arrived back to campus around 6:55pm but still wanted to attend the International Society[most popular society on campus with more than 700+ members integrating and encompassing students from all over the world]’s showing of, “The Commitments”.

A great film it was and thankfully broadcasted with subtitles to aid us poor Americans drowning in the at times indecipherable phrases and pronouncation of words. Following the efforts of a jobless and aspiring manager, a band is formed to bring back the ‘soul’ in music. Hilarious, witty, and vulgar humor, the Irish really are the full package.

Afterwards, despite our lack of nutrition in our system[I only had a bowl of oatmeal which they label as porridge and a dollop of Honey Peach greek yogurt, and my black tea with a splash of the most delicious milk tasting of liquid nutella[hazelnut milk]], we still headed over to the most popular bar in town known as the Stables Club.

When I went to the bartender to order a drink, being the social butterfly I coin myself to, I attempted to harmlessly flirt with him, but ended up foiling my plan as the American who couldn’t understand what he was saying. Finally I heard him say Guiness, and I figured since I hadn’t had an authentically poured Guiness in Ireland yet, this night would have to be the night.

Enjoying my beer with Julia, Leanna, and Emily.

Enjoying my beer with Julia, Leanna, and Emily.

I enjoyed the foam surfacing on the dark cold beer which inevitably left a small moustache for my friends to poke fun at. I could only stomach a few sips before I had to stop, and thankfully my buddy Gavin obliged quite willingly when I offered him my hefty glass of the remains. Despite the frigid cold when we left the pub, we were welcomed by our flat mates which turned into a hilarious evening of cultural banter.

I truly enjoy the cross pollination between languages and our slang. We as Americans don’t think twice about using such phrases or words like, ‘Whaddup’, ‘shwasty’, ‘I’m in your boat’, ‘gazillion/million and one’, but to my international living partners, they constantly are fascinated to know what they mean so they can use the unique dialogue in conversation. I get a special kick out of teaching sarcasm.

Today I was joking with Yves when he started by saying, ‘Ah, yes when I was with my friend Rusty..’ and I interuppted him by saying, ‘You have friends?’ Vicky was confused at my mean spirit and I explained to her how you can use what I believe to be witty banter in conversation. Mixed with her greek accent, it was priceless.

We also have a running inside joke now about Ben…and his pizza. He claims he doesn’t like it and says ‘I have had enough’ but will randomly get up from a table or wherever we are conversing and go to the fridge to get his pizza. A diet of pizza, beer, and now a cigarette~we love poking fun and he is always one to take it lightly knowing we are only kidding. Ben is too funny when he does speak up and I enjoy his humor. He claims he doesn’t like my camera because he doesn’t want me to capture him when he gets drunk tomorrow. Mwahaha. I love documenting everything so we’ll see.

DSC02428

Ben and his pizza. He literally said good night to it. 🙂

Also when asking if they knew what jell-o was due to the river having the same appearance when it was quite foggy upon our first arrival at the Thomond Village, Vicky and Sofia thought it was ‘jelly-cake’ which caused Yves to talk about the movie ‘Flubber’ and try and explain what it was as the ‘little green things’. Truly hilarious the variety and depth our conversations have had, and it has only been two days. We also sat down together like a family; I really feel comfortable with everyone and feel so blessed for this adventure to continue. Until  tomorrow,

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

