‘Angel Lane’ wasn’t so heavenly.

But should I have expected anything more from a club associated with this name? Sure it blasted top chartered hits in the typical fashion of such a venue, yet what made it fall flat was in fact the lack of actual dancing. Within the center of the location, a sea of hormonal Irish lads and intoxicated girls trying too hard were swallowed together in a mosh pit pulsing with energy within the rink like circle. Several times I made my way inside hoping a nice young fellow would surprise me with close contact, but instead I was sandwiched between the pushes and shoves of the crowd. Funny thing was, when a man actually did want to dance with his lady of choice, rather than coming behind her and beginning the grind, these men would quickly squeeze the cheek within her short skirt, and wait for her to turn around. Shockingly, several of the women I saw this happen to would then oblige and begin dancing if they fancied the guy’s looks.  Oh cultural diversity, how you  confuse me.

Despite this method of dancing, Robin 59[+ Chloe and Cam and the Kilmurry gals] made due of the situation and jammed out along the side of the rink singing along with the like of Rihanna, Swedish House Mafia, and Macklemore.

Poor Benny was sick :/

Poor Benny was sick :/

But he still managed a smile for me! :)

But he still managed a smile for me! 🙂

 

Love me some Canadian Chloe!

Love me some Canadian Chloe!

Are you, a talking to me?

Are you, a talking to me?

Striking a pose with one of my favorite Canadians!

Striking a pose with one of my favorite Canadians!

Dancing along the sides of the dance floor.

Dancing along the sides of the dance floor.

 

All was going smoothly until a screenplay worthy assortment of drama was inflicted. Throughout the evening, I had been dancing with a few lucky lads, but due to my sporting of bright red lips, I forced myself to avoid what several of them wanted; hey, I was sick and didn’t want the temptation. Luckily avoiding this predicament[for the most part], I still was enjoying being in the same vicinity of one of my rather attractive friends. His personality is one where you feel like you are the only one in the room when he casually smirks and unknowingly flirts just by shedding a sweet smile. In the back of my head, I am well aware this romantic vibe is a falsified version of hope for companionship, yet one cannot disregard these feelings once they are present. I had been on the dance floor attempting to move on from my love conscious, and upon arriving back with my friends, my eyes feasted on his intense lip lock with another one of our friends. Shock. Disappointment. Well this sucks. Seeing that this was the first time I endured this sight, I turn to my other friend, and instantly sense her mutual feeling of disappointment. Sigh. Now when these kind of circumstances occur, my personal solution is to remove myself physically from the situation, yet the mental ties associated with such an event are not so easily resolved. Standing outside in our own self pity, my friend and I shared a taxi longing to go home. It just so happens though, home wasn’t a ticket to independence; this man is my flatmate.

Upon entering Robin 59, I wasn’t intoxicated, but my tired persona definitely had taken a toll on my ability to filter my thoughts. Sitting down on our leather couch residing in the main room, I didn’t believe a discussion would occur due to my lack of emotional wearing, yet apparently because of my silence treatment, tension had brought a great big elephant into the room. Enter our male housemate. No acknowledgement. My woman roommate and I speak together through text adding to the awkward lack of noise in the room, but without knowing his feeling on the situation, we didn’t want to engineer a conversation. My male flatmate walks over to the couch beside me causing my heart to pound in anticipation; immediately asking why Resident Tension resided in the room between myself and my other woman roommate, in no way did I believe I would ever confess my small crush on him[though it was only acknowledged when seeing him with another], yet after an hour of him pestering me for answers and my personal exclamations that it was difficult to instantly conjure happiness at the moment and that tomorrow we could sweep the situation under the rug, the rug remained quite dirty by the end of the evening. Or morning. 5:00 am yo. A love triangle to say the least seeing that three of us were submitted to confession, however, after receiving confirmation that the friend zone would be the optimal place for our relationship, I feel better knowing that I can truly act like myself without worrying about appearance or impressing. So there you have it, at least from my side of the shenanigans.  Robin 59, I will love you until the day I go to a real heaven.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

