Maybe I need to resort my priorities…

Maybe Ron had a point when he famously noted Hermonine’s lack of concrete confidence in her priorities. If you may recall, prior to my arrival in the wonderful green isle of Ireland, capturing the heart of an Irish prince was number one on my Study Abroad Bucket List. Sure the shimmery ginger locks, and never faltering hospitality sounded intriguing, but like most stereotypes, you can really only expect the unexpected these days. Though I don’t want to put to shame a flock of Irish descending gentlemen, the type of guy I have encountered at the various clubs seems to fall outside the ideal expectation of a desired luck man.

This past Thursday as part of International week, 6 euros bought us a bus ride and entry into the Orchard, a classy bar featuring heat lamps and string lights outdoors, while a lively hipster DJ spun a selection of mainstream + nostalgic 90’s tunes along the miniature dance floor. While I always have a blast allowing the music to enter my system and affect my energy regardless of men preying through the throng of fun seekers, this night in particular made me curious as to why they think it is acceptable to literally immediately initiate a ‘shift’ (shifting is synonymous for kissing in Ireland) even before exchanging names. Disgusting. An aspect of the twenty-something culture I don’t really understand here. However, putting aside this factor, dressing up makes the night an occasion; an occasion of ‘craic’ was definitely had with friends I hadn’t seen all week. A reunion at the Orchard. Now don’t we sound like vintage souls.

Gotta give some love to the Hungarian roommate!

Gotta give some love to the Hungarian roommate!

All smiles and even a photobomb hand!

All smiles and even a photobomb hand!

Alpha Gamma Delta for the win!

Alpha Gamma Delta for the win!

Sorority sisters repping on the dance floor!

Sorority sisters repping on the dance floor!

Typical bathroom shot with the lovely greek roomie.

Typical bathroom shot with the lovely greek roomie.

 

P.S. I forgot to mention Wednesday catered to International Week as well. A Food Fair featuring cuisine from the ample representation of countries at UL was had allowing students to venture over to the Stables Club and choose two countries to sample dishes from. Before reading the caption, can you guess what these edible items possibly could be? Upon first glance I was a bit frightened, but as one with an adventurous palette(plug for my food blog: thecapalette.blogspot.com), this was a fun task to endeavor.

Sofia enjoying her peanut butter pie with an oreo cookie crust. Uh yum?

Sofia enjoying her peanut butter pie with an oreo cookie crust. Uh yum?

An asian affair: vegetable pancakes, quite fluffy and mild in taste were paired with a wet dumpling like ball filled with an oozing peanut butter like middle. France provided a tuna rice salad complemented with olives, sundried tomatoes, and corn kernels.

An asian affair: vegetable pancakes, quite fluffy and mild in taste were paired with a wet dumpling like ball filled with an oozing peanut butter like middle. France provided a tuna rice salad complemented with olives, sundried tomatoes, and corn kernels.

After a long week of events AND class, I still hadn’t allotted myself individual time to relax and eliminate the terrible cough and runny nose that still has made permanent residence in my system. Friday and Saturday meant staying in. *GASP* Completely out of the ordinary for the Irish lifestyle, but isn’t integrating a dialogical relationship? I’m bringing lazy America ya’ll. But not for long.

Yesterday Yves randomly suggested the possibly of making today[Sunday] involve a day long trip to the city of Galway. After deliberation for a few hours, a plan was enacted including a wake up call of 5:50am. Talk about being up for anything.

Seeing that we actually implemented this activity, my mental ability to grammatically write any more sentences is aloof. Stay tuned for awesome documentation of my frigid day in Galway soon. I’m still thawing…

2 thoughts on “Maybe I need to resort my priorities…

  1. It sounds like you are having a great time. I wish I could spend you some Emergen-C. You can never let a cold get you down in Ireland. I wish I had made it to the Orchard. That sounds amazing. I bet you’re enjoying the Bulmers and the Baby Guinesses. I can tell you Galway is my favorite Irish city. I can’t believe you only spent one day there. I had the best pub crawl while I was there. I love you a TON! And am so glad I can live my memories through you 🙂

    -Alyssa

  2. Annie!!! I hope you are having an amazing trip and just know I’m jelly-like-the-fish that you get to be off adventuring in Ireland.
    Skype with me again soon! And post about your Dublin adventures, too!!!!
    I am living vicariously through you. ❤

Leave a Reply

